Russia's spacecraft docks ISS in six hours after lift off

None
None
MOSCOW. August 2. KAZINFOR Russia's Progress class space freighter automatically docked with the International Space Station only six hours after blasting off from Earth, a spokesman for the Mission Control said on Thursday.

A Soyuz-U rocket carrying the Progress-M-16M cargo spacecraft lifted off from the Baikonur Space Center in Kazakhstan at 11:35 p.m. Moscow time (19:35 GMT).

The spacecraft docked with the ISS on the fourth revolution around Earth and six minutes ahead of the scheduled time that was set at 05:24 a.m. Moscow time (01:24 GMT).

It was for the first time, when Russia docked the space freighter with the ISS in the first six hours after the launch rather than in two days, which was a routine procedure, RIA Novosti reports.

Progress-M-16M delivered over 2.5 metric tons of supplies, including food, water and scientific equipment, to a six-man crew onboard the orbital station.

 

Currently reading