S. Korea vows responsibility as elected UNSC member as 2-year term begins

Photo: Yonhap

South Korea vowed Monday to do its part "responsibly" to contribute to international efforts in addressing global challenges that threaten peace and security, as it began its two-year term as an elected member of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC), Yonhap reports. 

South Korea won the UNSC nonpermanent member seat in June last year with 180 votes from 192 member states at the U.N. General Assembly in New York. It will serve on the council, one of the six key organs of the U.N., until 2025.

The UNSC is primarily responsible for the maintenance of international peace and security, including armed conflicts around the world. It is the only U.N. body with the authority to issue binding solutions to member states.

It is the third time for South Korea to serve on the council as one of the 10 elected members.
In a press release, the foreign ministry highlighted the role of the UNSC at a time when it is becoming increasingly difficult for the council to speak with "one single voice" on major international issues.

"The Security Council is experiencing difficulties ... due to conflicts among the permanent members and confrontations between blocs. As a result, it is becoming important for 10 elected members like South Korea to come together to persuade the permanent members and find a breakthrough," the ministry said.

"For the next two years, we will play a responsible role in ensuring that the Security Council responds effectively to major issues that threaten international peace and security, such as the North Korea issue, the Ukraine crisis and the Israel-Palestine issue," it said.

In addition, South Korea will contribute to promoting the agenda related to U.N. peacekeeping and peacebuilding; women, peace and security; and emerging security threats, including cyber and climate security, the ministry said.

South Korea previously served as an elected UNSC member in 1996-97 and 2013-14.

Nonpermanent seats are allocated to three countries in Africa, two in Asia, one in Eastern Europe, two in Latin America and the Caribbean, and two in Western Europe and other regions.

For the 2024-25 term, Algeria, Sierra Leone, Slovenia and Guyana will serve as nonpermanent members, along with South Korea.

Currently reading