U. Shukeyev: Customs Union member countries to join WTO together, on agreed terms

COW.  October 21. KAZINFORM /Narymbek Ismagulov/ Kazakhstan, Russia and Belarus will access the WTO together and on agreed terms, First Vice Prime Minister Umirzak Shukeyev has announced following the ninth session of the EurAsEC Customs Union Commission in Moscow today.  

"Our position on the WTO is unchanged - we will hold talks within a joint group of negotiators headed by Maksim Medvedkov. Kazakhstani side will be led by Zhanar Aitzhanova", the Vice PM said.

As Igor Shuvalov, First Vice Chairman of the Russian Government, pointed out, the WTO Secretariat had already received all necessary information. "The Customs Union member countries intend to carry out active work on changing their common tariff plan in order to let their major trade partners set to negotiations regarding certain positions, customs duties which will be  agreed within the Customs Union", he noted.

Shuvalov also added that the negotiating group debated the issues both on behalf of the Customs Union and each member country. "In case if it is necessary to change this format we will adopt appropriate decisions but they will be coordinated among our countries", he said.


Currently reading