World Sprint Speed Skating Championships 2015 to take place in Astana

ASTANA. KAZINFORM - For the first time in the history of independent Kazakhstan Astana will host the World Sprint Speed Skating Championships scheduled for February 28 - March 1 in "Alau" Ice Palace.

Olympic champions and world champions: Shani Davis, Michel Mulder, Koen Verweij, Lee Sang-Hwa and rising stars of this sport Olga Fatkulina, Pavel Kulizhnikov and others will take part in the event. Three speed skaters will represent Kazakhstan. These are Denis Kuzin, Roman Krech and Yekaterina Idova, the press service of the Ice Palace informs. As earlier informed, Denis Kuzin won gold and silver medals in the 1000 meters distance a year ago in Nagano. Besides, it was informed that Ice Palace was seventh in the world rankings in terms of speed. The technology of preparation of ice is improved every year. Participation of the best speed skaters of the world and the quality of the ice in "Alau" promise new records. Open to public.

Currently reading